So how many pairs of shoes does the average British woman have….?!

22 Sep

According to Gocompare.com the answer is (drum roll please…………….) –  19! And they cost, on average £35 each.

But Gocompare don’t just stop there – somehow they managed to find out not just how many pairs we have and how much they cost, but what type of shoes we own!  According to them, if you look into the wardrobe (and perhaps under the bed) of a British woman you will find:

  • 3 formal/dressy heels for occasional wear
  • 6 summer shoes (eg flip flops/sandals/ballet pumps/wedges)
  • 3 pairs of winter boots
  • 4 evening/night out shoes (such as kitten heels or stilettos)
  • 2 sensible work shoes
  • 2 others

Don’t know about you, but I’m not too sure I make of this. I suppose it’s kind of interesting, but a bit Big Brother-ish.  But one thing I do know is that they didn’t make it as far as my house! With over a hundred pairs when I last counted I’d blow these figures out of the water!

But if you’ve got less than 19 pairs and could use some ‘scientific’ backup to justify a shoe  splurge, please feel free  to use these stats in whatever way may help!

2 Responses to “So how many pairs of shoes does the average British woman have….?!”

  1. maggi September 25, 2010 at 11:09 am #

    goodness me, Shoesie, they didn’t visit my house… way more than 19, and definitely more than £35 a pair. What is interesting though is that the more expensive ones have sometimes been better value – very comfortable, very well made and stylish to the point of not dating, I have a pair of shoes that cost me a shocking £110 about 15 years ago… but I still wear them at least once a week. Cost-per-wear? much cheaper than a £35 pair of shoes that wears out in 3 months.

    • shoesieQ September 25, 2010 at 4:49 pm #

      Maggi – you are clearly a woman after my own heart: couldn’t agree more, on ALL counts! Thanks so much for the comment – the very first for my very new blog, so is particularly appreciated!

Leave a Reply

