Probably the best employee handbook in the world…..!

19 Jul

For those of you who don’t know me personally, ShoesieQ used to be an HR bod before she sought solace in the wonderful world of shoebusiness. And things have gone well so far – in fact so well that I recently opened my second shop in Cambridge and hope to open a few more in the next 5 or so years.

The though of having a small chain of shops is a bit scary to be honest. And I know that for this to work  I need to put into place some of the more corporate things that I left behind in my old life. One of which is an employee handbook, to help make sure that everyone who works for Modish know what we’re all about and what’s expected of them.

So I’ve spent the last few days looking at examples of staff handbooks to try to get some inspiration. And I’m afraid inspiration been sadly lacking in most of the ones I’ve seen so far,as they have mainly comprised of long lists of ‘Do this, Don’t do this, DEFINITELY DON’T DO THAT OR YOU’LL GET SACKED!

So imagine my joy when I came across a ‘handbook’ which takes the form of a 5-by-8-inch  grey card just only 75 words long. Nordstrom – the Department store in the US – take a bow! For those of you wonder what it says – here’s a copy that is given to all new employees on their first day:

Nordstrom’s Employee Handbook

Welcome to Nordstrom

We’re glad to have you with our Company. Our number one goal is to provide outstanding customer service. Set both your personal and professional goals high. We have great confidence in your ability to achieve them.

Nordstrom Rules: Rule #1: Use best judgment in all situations. There will be no additional rules.

Please feel free to ask your department manager, store manager, or division general manager any question at any time.

Unfortunately in these litigious times the newbies are now also given a full handbook of other more specific rules and legal regulations as well as this card. But even so – what a lovely, positive way to start a new job. Not sure if I’ll be quite so succinct in my version mind………..will keep you posted!

Leave a Reply

