The Z list beckons!

26 Mar

Firstly apologies for the prolonged radio silence are due to the regular reader(s?) of this blog.  In case you are wondering I’m afraid it’s due to an almost lethal combination of new season shoe-i-tis and the reappearance of my tendancies to chronic laziness.

‘So’, I fondly imagine I can hear you asking, ‘what’s been going on in Ms Q’s world that’s meant she’s finally got her finger out of whatever it was in (!) and onto a keyboard, the feckless cow?’ Ok, perhaps that’s not quite so fond as it might be. Although it’s probably pretty accurate.

Anyway I digress. What’s inspired me to put pen to paper this week is that it seems that I have finally made it! But don’t just take my word for it – these are the views of one of Saffron Walden’s most esteemed newspapers, namely The Saffron Walden Weekly. Who very sweetly called me up a couple of weeks ago to ask if I, as a local celebrity, would like to appear in their regular column ‘Two Minutes with….’.  Flattered to the nth degree, I of course agreed immediately.

MISTAKE!  Well, mistake-ish. What I should have done (hindsight is a wonderful thing, don’t you think?) was to find out what sort of things they’d be asking first! So the paper emails me a questionnaire, I pour myself a coffee, and get on with the task in hand. Reckon it would take a quarter hour tops.

They’re not stupid, these newspaper people. They throw in a few easy ones to start with, namely name (!), age, place of birth and town you live in. ‘Blimmey, I think to myself, ‘maybe I’ll bang this out in 10 minutes after all!’

So, lulled into a suitable sense of security I come to the next question. ‘When are you happiest?’ Errrrmmmmmmm. Ok, next one ‘How do you relax?’ Find myself thinking ‘Definitely not by completing questionnaires for a newspaper. Oh god, please make the next one easy’. The next question is ‘Pet hates’. Phew – that’s easy – I can’t abide people who are always complaining. But the next one is possibly the worst one so far – namely to share with Saffron Walden and it’s surrounds my ‘Guilty pleasures’!

And after that they get harder! Maybe it’s just me – and everyone else knows what their Superpower would be. Or indeed who their hero is. And what they would do if they ruled the country for a day. But I certainly did not. And it took all weekend to work it out!

Anyway, if you’re interested in what my addled mind finally came up with, you can read all about it here. And all I can add is Jamie Oliver – watch your back – there’s a new celeb in town!Ha!

Two minutes with SD

6 Responses to “The Z list beckons!”

  1. Paul Violet March 26, 2012 at 5:19 pm #

    Can’t resist leaving a comment Sarah. What a brilliat blog, and the time taken working out your answers to the newspaper questionnaire was well spent.
    However I’m not too sure that you greatly endeared yourself to the residents of Bishops Stortford. Very brave!!!

    Thanks for the entertainment.

    • ShoesieQ March 26, 2012 at 5:25 pm #

      That’s too kind – thanks Paul

  2. Anne March 26, 2012 at 11:29 pm #

    Q, I thought your answers were very clever, especially the Guilty Pleasures one! Now here’s another one for you: You are about to leave the pub after a late night of drinking. It is dark and raining and one of your group says, “Shall we go home over the moor? You look down and see that, as always, you have on the most brilliant shoes. You answer:
    A. What about the werewolves? B. H%ll to the no. or C. (insert own choice here.)
    Your fan,
    shoeless without Q

    • ShoesieQ March 27, 2012 at 10:27 am #

      Dearest, lovely Tinwhistle – as always you are being too kind. But in this case, the answer is simple. The only person who ever suggests such a daft thing is my darling sister. And the one thing I do when I see her is make sure that anything on my feet is:

      a) Water-resistant
      b) Flat and
      c) Dog-proof!

      So, for once, my choice would not driven by my footwear.

      As you may recall I have gotten the answer to this one wrong before and opted for c) Ok, if we must. So, armed with the benefit of experience I think we must stick with c), but this time c) = Taxi!

      How does that sound to you?!

      SQ xxx

  3. Paul M Johnstone April 4, 2012 at 9:09 am #

    Sarah, That got me thinking more about the psychology of the questionnaire, Easy start get your guard down then the difficult stuff.

    You know I had considered this previously but never had the words to do it justice. Well done

    • ShoesieQ April 4, 2012 at 9:15 am #

      Paul – that’s too kind. Thanks so much for your supportive words – much appreciated!

Leave a Reply

