Modish shoes hit the catwalk again!

28 Apr

I know, I know! Anyone who saw my attempts at,errrrrrmmmmmm, modelling 18 months ago  would think that, perhaps, it would be best to let sleeping dogs lie. Or at least stick to the Airfix variety rather than the catwalk version.  And if you don’t believe me, just check out my blog post ‘Naomi, Kate, Agyness, Cindy. Meet Karen, Hannah, Penny & Kathryn’ from Oct 28th 2010. See what I mean?!

But ShoesieQ is made of stern stuff. She also has shoes to sell! So when we were invited back by Wallace Cancer Care she jumped at the chance. But who would join me?

Up to the plate stepped Hannah and Penny. Hannah provided the star turn last time: elegant, composed and stylish. Which took some doing. Especially as she was 7 months pregnant at the time. And then there was Penny, who manages my Saffron Walden shop. Penny turned me down flat last time, so I didn’t hold out much hope. But I was wrong!

So, we roll up to Saffron Walden Town Hall fuelled by a bottle of Prosecco and some nibbles. But all of us surprisingly calm. Even the rookie Penny was taking it all in her stride. Despite the fact that with just 3 models it meant we’d each take 2 trips up the runway ie 4 in total per ‘model’ –  firstly in our day shoes, and then rocking more of an evening look.

So Hannah’s out first, wearing a rather gorgeous 50’s inspired dress. We thought we’d go for the ‘festival look’ with her, so she starts off wearing a pair of the utterly fabulous-yet-a-bit-bonkers Wedge Wellys (£45) followed by the cutest flip flops by Mel (£18)

Penny was up second. She starts off with some mid heeled nude slingbacks by Spanish designer Pedro Miralles (£89.99) but then throws caution to the wind with the maddest 6 inch heels ever – featuring a sparkly union jack (£79.99) by Californians Iron Fist.

Lastly it’s the turn of yours truly. I too opt for the relative safety of a pair of plum coloured sandals by Fly London to start (£84.99), followed by a pair of cut-away wedges by Calvin Klein (at just £85 – a designer barg!).

Mind you I almost didn’t make it out for round 2. As I’d forgotten quite how short the first track I’d chosen was – Elvis’s Blue suede shoes – which clocks in at about 2 mins 30 seconds. So I was in the middle of changing into my CKs when the sound man calmly informed me that we had 35 secs of music left! Hence the rather undignified scramble at the end.

Btw one thing I will say  – those CK wedges are stupidly comfortable – despite them having a good 5 inch heel. So much so that when I was wearing them around the shop earlier that day I managed to shin up a 5 foot high step ladder to get some shoes from the top shelf of my stockroom without incident. NB Don’t try that at home kids ;o) So thank you Mr Calvin Klein for those ones – much appreciated. In fact appreciated so much that they now have a hallowed space in ShoesieQ’s private collection………….

Anyway, if my blow-by-blow account hasn’t completely put you off here’s a clip of our antics during the first half of the show. Part II to follow shortly.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eESPA4JjLjs&feature=plcp

4 Responses to “Modish shoes hit the catwalk again!”

  1. Bug April 28, 2012 at 3:58 pm #

    Goooood shoes!

    Bug @ Bugwear

  2. Paul Violet April 28, 2012 at 5:26 pm #

    A blog in true ShoesieQ style, and with true ShoesieQ class.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Fresh from tweet pic « Saffron Walden Feed - April 28, 2012

    […] Agyness, Cindy. Meet Karen, Hannah, Penny & Kathryn’ from Oct 28th 2010. See what I mean?! Link – […]

Leave a Reply

